About Cub Scouts

Since 1910, Scouting in the United States has served as a place for school-aged children to have fun and grow in constructive ways. Unique to Scouting is an emphasis on:

  • Character Development
  • Spiritual Growth
  • Good Citizenship
  • Sportsmanship and Fitness
  • Family Understanding
  • Respectful Relationships
  • Personal Achievement
  • Friendly Service
  • Fun and Adventure

Cub Scouts specifically serves and welcomes boys and girls ages 6-11 (with some areas open to 5 year olds in the Lion program).

Our Mission

The mission of Scouts BSA (formerly the Boy Scouts of America) is to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.

The Vision of Scouts BSA is to prepare every eligible youth in America to become a responsible, participating citizen and leader who is guided by the Scout Oath and Law.

Read more at the Boy Scouts of America website: https://www.scouting.org/programs/cub-scouts/.

Scouting Hallmarks

All Scouts pledge to do their best to uphold the Scout Oath and the Scout Law, by living the Scout Motto in their daily lives.

The Scout Motto

Do your best.

The Scout Oath

On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; to help other people at all times; to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.


The Scout Law

A Scout is:

  • Trustworthy: Tell the truth and keep promises. People can depend on you.
  • Loyal: Show that you care about your family, friends, Scout leaders, school, and country.
  • Helpful: Volunteer to help others without expecting a reward.
  • Friendly: Be a friend to everyone, even people who are very different from you.
  • Courteous: Be polite to everyone and always use good manners.
  • Kind: Treat others as you want to be treated. Never harm or kill any living thing without good reason.
  • Obedient: Follow the rules of your family, school, and pack. Obey the laws of your community and country.
  • Cheerful: Look for the bright side of life. Cheerfully do tasks that come your way. Try to help others be happy.
  • Thrifty: Work to pay your own way. Try not to be wasteful. Use time, food, supplies, and natural resources wisely.
  • Brave: Face difficult situations even when you feel afraid. Do what you think is right despite what others might be doing or saying.
  • Clean: Keep your body and mind fit. Help keep your home and community clean.
  • Reverent: Be reverent toward God. Be faithful in your religious duties. Respect the beliefs of others.

Scouting Ranks, explained:

Lion: For Scouts in Kindergarten or those 6 years of age

Tiger: For Scouts in 1st Grade or 7 years old

Wolf: For Scouts in 2ndGrade or 8 years old

Bear: 3rd Grade or 9 years old

Webelos: 4th Grade or 10 years old

Arrow of Light: 5th Grade or 11 years old. After completing Arrow of Light, Cub Scouts transition to Boy Scouts of America.